Pumpkin Season Continues With Easy Cookies And Delicious Oatmeal

27 Sep
Pumpkin  2

Me and my (three!) pumpkins love fall!

I already kicked off my fall baking season with this amazingly easy Crock Pot Pumpkin Butter – and I loved it so much that I figured why not keep the pumpkin-y good times rolling? Plus – I am officially 9 months pregnant now – and I figured this might be one of my last chances to bake or try some new fall recipes before our little guy arrives, so I wanted to take full advantage!

Starting with the most important meal of the day, I decided to whip up some Pumpkin Spice Oatmeal so I could get my breakfast on before I moved on to the heavy labor of making cookies

Pumpkin Spice Oatmeal (Recipe Courtesy of Food Network)

Ingredients
One 15-ounce can pure pumpkin puree
2 cups milk, plus more for serving
1/2 cup dried cranberries or raisins
1/4 cup light brown sugar (packed), plus more for sprinkling
1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
Kosher salt
2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
Pepitas (toasted pumpkin seeds), for serving

20140927_102411

Directions
-Whisk the pumpkin puree, milk, 2 cups of water, the dried cranberries, brown sugar, pumpkin spice, vanilla and a large pinch of salt together in a medium saucepan. Bring to a simmer over medium heat, then add the oats and reduce the heat to medium-low
-Gently simmer, stirring frequently, until the oats are tender and the oatmeal is the consistency you like, 10 to 15 minutes (15 minutes for very thick oatmeal)
-Ladle the oatmeal into bowls and serve drizzled with milk and sprinkled with a little extra sugar and pumpkin seeds

20140927_102542

The only modification I made to this was I didn’t include the toasted pumpkin seeds – not for any particular reason except that I forgot to get them at the store – whoops…but I am thinking that if you don’t have them on hand, you can substitute sliced almonds or other nuts

My husband and I both really enjoyed the way that this turned out – the oats were well cooked and it wasn’t too thick – my husband’s only complaint was “too many raisins” but that is a matter of personal opinion I think! The spices and pumpkin taste weren’t too overpowering, and since I am an oatmeal LOVER – this really hit the spot!

 

Delicious breakfast – check! Now on to the COOKIES….

Last year I tried out these Salted Pumpkin Chocolate Chunk Cookies – and they had a nice cake-y texture and were overall a success. But personally, I prefer a more dense, thick cookie – which is what led me to this recipe for Pumpkin Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

20140927_092439

Someone is ready to help make cookies (and eat them!)

Pumpkin-Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies (Recipe courtesy of Cooking Classy)

Prep Time: 20 minutes
Cook Time: 14 minutes
Yield: About 4 dozen

Ingredients
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups quick oats
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
1 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 1/3 cups packed light-brown sugar
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/4 cups canned pumpkin puree
1 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 cup chopped pecans or walnuts (optional)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a mixing bowl whisk together flour, oats, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger for 30 seconds, set aside.

In the bowl of an electric stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, whip together butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar until creamy (occasionally stop and scrape down sides and bottom of bowl throughout entire mixing process). Blend in egg then blend in vanilla extract and pumpkin puree.

20140927_092517

20140927_092708

Various stages of cookie dough – is there any sight more beautiful than when butter and sugar meet?

With mixer set on low speed, slowly add in dry ingredients and mix until combined. Mix in chocolate chips and pecans (if you want some chocolate to show through set some aside to press into tops before baking). Let batter rest 5 – 10 minutes (this just gives the oats some time to absorb the liquids so batter isn’t so sticky and cookies don’t spread so much)

20140927_092742

Before and after their time in the oven

Scoop dough out 2 Tbsp at a time (I used a 1 1/2-inch cookie scoop, which I recommend using for evenly shaped cookies and fill it heaping), and drop onto Silpat or parchment paper lined baking sheets, spacing cookies 2-inches apart. Bake in preheated oven 12 – 14 minutes. Allow to cool on baking sheet several minutes then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container.

20140927_092819

20140927_102932

The deliciously moist finished product – oats, chocolate, pumpkin – what more could you want?

 Aside from the slightly selfish reason of wanting a dense cookie (which these definitely were by the way!), I wanted to make something my husband would enjoy but with a slightly fall twist – as his favorite cookie is oatmeal chocolate chip. He liked these too – and kept sneaking them off the rack when he thought I wasn’t looking! The pumpkin gave them a nice flavor but also helped to keep them moist and dense – and between the texture of the oats and the chocolate chips, I would say it’s definitely something I would make (and eat!) again!

The great thing about both of these recipes is that I had most of the items on hand, and the few items I needed (canned pumpkin and raisins) were easily and cheaply obtained. Overall these are both easy and would please just about any crowd – and are perfect for celebrating the best season of all – FALL!

One Response to “Pumpkin Season Continues With Easy Cookies And Delicious Oatmeal”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. T.G.I.F. Pic Of The Week – Pumpkin Season Is Back At The Disney Parks | Living in a grown up World - October 10, 2014

    […] And if you can’t make it to Disney to check out all the fall fun – then check out these awesome mugs and other Halloween Merchandise available from the Disney Store. And if you’re feeling hungry and in the mood to bake – check out my baking blog for some more Pumpkin Fun […]

Leave a Reply

