Bananas, Blueberries, And Oats – A Delicious Breakfast Combo

11 Aug

I can’t help but shout my love for oats from the rooftops – whether its breakfast made in the Crock Pot or in the oven, or in cookie form with craisins and white chocolate chips or pumpkin, or in an always delicious apple crisp – I can’t get enough of this pantry staple. I eat it daily for breakfast, and am always trying to find new recipes to try starring oats too! So when I came across this Blueberry Banana Baked Oatmeal, I was instantly intrigued – as I love bananas and blueberries but had never thought of putting them together with my beloved oats, until now…

Blueberry Banana Baked Oatmeal

Prep time 15 mins
Cook time 45 mins
Total time 1 hour

Ingredients

• 1½ cups (3 med) mashed bananas
• 2 large eggs
• ¼ cup white sugar
• ¾ tsp vanilla extract
• ½ tsp salt
• ¾ tsp baking powder
• 2 cups milk
• 2½ cups old fashioned oats
• 8 ounces frozen blueberries

Instructions

1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Mash the bananas in a measuring cup, starting with two or three and adding more until you have 1.5 cups of banana mash.
2. Combine the banana mash in the large bowl with the eggs, sugar, vanilla, salt, and baking powder. Whisk to combine. Add the milk and whisk again until smooth.
3. Stir in the dry old-fashioned oats. Lastly, stir in the frozen blueberries (keeping them frozen and stirring them in last helps prevent the entire mix from turning purple). Spray an 8×8 inch baking dish with non-stick spray and then pour in the oat mixture.
4. Bake in the preheated 375 degree oven and bake for about 45 minutes or until the top is golden brown and the center is no longer wet to the touch.

20140810_124057

This was really a cinch to put together, and all the ingredients were items I had on hand (except the blueberries)

20140810_124153

I have to admit – I was rather skeptical of the unbaked version – it seemed really soupy and I had little faith that it would solidify in the oven. Luckily, I was wrong – and it set up really well in the oven

2014-08-10 12.39.51

I really enjoyed this – the texture of the baked oats mixed perfectly with the banana and blueberry flavors – and if I could change just one thing I think it would be to add some cinnamon and nutmeg to the recipe next time – but it was delicious as is too! What an easy thing to whip up on Sunday and then divide up to bring to work each day – easy, good for you, and delicious!

One Response to “Bananas, Blueberries, And Oats – A Delicious Breakfast Combo”

  1. simplerunnerindonesia August 12, 2014 at 9:08 am #

    Yummy Oatmeals, I like so much…

Leave a Reply

