Products I Love: CRISCO

19 Jun

Crisco

Ok – so maybe it seems strange to devote a whole post to something like Crisco – but how can I not praise this versatile fat? It pretty much does it all – you can fry chicken with it, grease the heck out of a pan, and do some other pretty weird but helpful stuff with it too!

But I have to say, my personal favorite way to use Crisco is in FROSTING – this recipe is my Mother In Law’s, and when I first heard what was in it I was like WHAT EW! There’s CRISCO in this?! But it seriously is amazing – and delicious to boot!

 

Crisco Frosting

Ingredients
-1 Cup Crisco
-1 lb box Confectioners Sugar
-1 tablespoon clear butter flavoring
-1 tablespoon clear vanilla
-1-2 tablespoons milk

Directions
-Blend Crisco until smooth and creamy with a hand mixer
-Add sugar in batches – 1 cup at a time, and mix until smooth in between each addition
-Add vanilla and butter flavoring, and mix well
-Add a little milk as needed and mix well until it’s at the desired consistency

So the point of using the clear extracts is that it makes the frosting nice and bright white – it’s so pretty when piped onto cupcakes, and it tastes even better licked right out of the bowl!

Cupcake

My Brother and Sister in law enjoying some of my cupcakes made with their mom’s frosting (she is excited – despite her expression!)

 

….of course Crisco isn’t exactly the best choice if you’re trying to be healthy, in which case you will want to check out my healthy chocolate chip cookies, or my healthy substitutions. I usually try and be healthy when preparing meals and snacks, but sometimes there is just nothing like a pile of Crisco frosting on a cupcake. Yum! What about you – have you used a lot of Crisco in the kitchen? What’s your favorite use for it?

One Response to “Products I Love: CRISCO”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. This Rainbow Cake Will WOW Your Party Guests (PS – It’s EASY To Make Too!) | Modern Day Betty Crocker - August 5, 2014

    […] the birthday girl with her decorated cake – I used my favorite Crisco frosting recipe and had a little decorating help from my husband – didn’t he do a great […]

Leave a Reply

