“Savory” French Toast Bake Scores Big On Flavor – Thanks To The Pioneer Woman!

5 Feb

CookbookCover

I received this cookbook as a gift from my Mother In Law for Christmas – and I must say, it was definitely one of the best gifts I received! I love The Pioneer Woman – I love her show on Food Network, I subscribe to her blog updates, and now I have this beautiful book I can love (and love to use!) too!

 

OpenBook

…and I am not kidding when I say the book is beautiful – it is colorful and hefty with thick glossy pages, full of fun stories, anecdotes, and great pictures not only of food but of Ree’s family and life

Recipejpeg

Oh, and I LOVE that each recipe has step by step instructions with a picture to accompany each step – isn’t that great? For my first attempt at creating a recipe from the book I chose the Bagel and Cream Cheese Baked French Toast – as I love French toast casserole, and this one just happens to be a savory version that contains the best kind of bagel – the Everything Bagel!

The Recipe:
Ingredients:
6 Everything Bagels
Butter for greasing pan
One 8oz. Package Cream Cheese
2 cups grated cheddar cheese
8 eggs
2 cups milk
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 Tbls chopped chives, plus more for serving
1 tsp. Dry mustard
1/2 tsp. Cayenne
1/2 tsp. Salt

Directions:
Grease 9×13 casserole dish with butter
Tear bagels into peices and place in casserole dish
In seperate bowl, whisk eggs, milk, cream, cayenne, chives, mustard, and salt
Meanwhile, cut block of cream cheese into small squares and place them all over top of bagels in various places (note: whole top will not be covered)
Pour egg mixture all over bagels
Sprinkle cheddar cheese all over
Cover with foil and refrigerate 2 hours or overnight
Bake 450 degrees for 45 minutes, uncover and finish baking 15 to 20 minutes more. Cut and serve with extra chives…

Casseroleunbaked

Here it is the night before, all ready to be slid into the oven the next morning for a delicious breakfast! It was really easy to put together, in fact I did it in under 10 minutes!

I may have made a few adjustments to the recipe based on the fact that I didn’t *exactly* have all the right ingredients…I used skim milk instead of whole milk and heavy cream, and I had no dry mustard so I added some regular yellow mustard instead, and I also didn’t have any chives, so I used onion powder. And it actually still turned out pretty good! It might have been more rich and had more depth with the fattier milks and the chives, but I think I did alright considering!

Casserolebaked

Oh, hello melted cheese-y bagel-y cream cheese-y goodness

Casserolecloseup1

This smelled awesome while baking, and has that awesome crispy top soft center thing going on (with a consistency similar to bread pudding)

EatingCasserole

It tasted REALLY good – it was savory and chees-y, and I will definitely be making it again, and I also can’t wait to try more of Ree’s recipes from this book!

Leave a Reply

