Birthday Baking – Chocolate Cake Gets A Special Surprise Center

19 Jan

There are few things I love more than celebrating birthdays – and my husband’s 27th birthday was no exception! I was thrilled that he would finally be joining me and we would both be in our “late 20’s”, and I couldn’t wait to lavish him with presents, dinner and a party, and of course- BIRTHDAY CAKE!

I started with my Go-To Chocolate Cake Recipe, which has sour cream in the batter to make it extra moist
image
This cake is delicious, and pretty versatile too – which means there is some room for some experimentation…hmm…luckily, I knew just the thing to get my creative juices flowing

The_Dollop_Book_of_Frosting_thumb

This book of mouth-watering frostings is written by Heather Saffer – who is actually local to Rochester NY where I live, and she is a baker who owned a cupcake shop here, and she recently won Cupcake Wars on Food Network and now is a pretty big deal, with her book and doing all kinds of appearances – check out her website Here, and you can Buy Her Book on Amazon (you can get it for your Kindle too!)

So when I saw the Salted Caramel Buttercream Recipe in the book I knew it would be the perfect “glue” between my two layers of chocolate cake
image_1
The Salted Caramel Frosting was very easy to make on the stovetop, and once I tasted it I knew it would compliment the chocolate perfectly!
image_2
Once I had the frosting made, I whipped up some Vanilla Buttercream to add to it to give it a perfect fluffy consistency
image_3
Ok so cooled cake layers = check
Chocolate frosting per chocolate cake recipe = check
Salted Caramel frosting = check
Vanilla Buttercream frosting – check

All the pieces were complete, and now it was time to assemble!
image_4

I mixed the caramel and vanilla frostings together and smeared them all over the bottom layer of cake, and I was sure to get it all the way to the edge – as this is a frosting you will want to savor with each and every bite of cake – trust me!

Once that was all set, I placed the top layer on and frosted it all up, and then stuck it in the fridge until party time

I must admit, I was nervous to serve it to my friends and family – as a layer cake isn’t exactly something you can inconspicuously try before the guests arrive (unlike Cookies which are perfect for pre-taste testing!)

image_5

But everyone (me included!) loved the way this turned out – the cake was nice and moist, the chocolate frosting sweet, smooth, and almost a bit tangy with the sour cream, and the salted caramel really stole the show here – it was thick, sweet, but somehow not overly sweet. Needless to say, there were no leftovers of this cake – which my waistline is glad for but is a little sad at the same time (no cake for breakfast? UGH!)

If you want to make your own salted caramel or Vanilla Buttercream Frosting, then I highly suggest you pick up a copy of Heather’s book – I know I can’t WAIT to try out more of her recipes (Cinnamon Whiskey Buttercream or Maple Bacon are calling my name I think…YUM!). My dad’s birthday is next month so you better believe I will be using The Dollop Book of Frosting again real soon!

Leave a Reply

