Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Get A (Pumpkin-Y) Twist!

26 Oct

Who doesn’t love sitting down with a classic snack of Cookies and milk? There’s something comforting about a freshly baked cookie paired with a tall glass of cool milk.

I am always on the lookout for new cookie recipes – it’s probably one of my favorite desserts – you can change them up and add tons of different mix-ins, they generally freeze well, and everyone loves them!

So when I came across these Oatmeal Pumpkin Cookies, I thought – what a great way to get to enjoy a new spin on the classic oatmeal cookie!

 

Oatmeal Pumpkin Cookies (Courtesy of Budget Bytes)

Ingredients

• 1 cup all-purpose flour
• ½ tsp baking soda
• ½ tsp baking powder
• ½ tsp salt
• ½ tsp cinnamon
• 2 Tbsp butter (room temp.)
• ½ cup pumpkin purée
• ⅓ cup brown sugar
• ⅓ cup white sugar
• 1 large egg
• 1 tsp vanilla extract
• 1½ cup rolled oats
• ⅓ cup dried cranberries

 

IMG_5577

Various stages of batter

IMG_5578

Prepping the cookies for the oven (with a little Walter help)

 

Directions
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon until very well combined.
2. In a large bowl, beat together the butter (room temperature), pumpkin, brown sugar, and white sugar on low speed. Once they’re well combined, add the egg and vanilla and beat until well combined again.
3. Add the flour mixture to the pumpkin mixture and beat on low speed just until a thick, creamy batter forms. Add the dry oats and dried cranberries and stir them into the batter with a spoon.
4. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Spoon the batter onto the baking sheet in 2 Tbsp portions, leaving about 1.5 inches between each cookie. The cookies will not spread much during baking, so gently pat them down into flattened circles.
5. Bake the cookies in the preheated oven for 16-18 minutes, or until slightly browned on the surface. Allow the cookies to cool on a wire rack before eating.

IMG_5582

I did make one change to the recipe – I used raisins instead of dried cranberries – it was really just a personal preference, I don’t much care for dried cranberries

IMG_5585

What I liked about the taste is that it’s not a super dense cookie, it’s more of a light almost pumpkin bread-like texture, with a nice contrast between the dough/oats/fruit. My husband does NOT like raisins, especially in his cookies, but he agreed to try these, saying “My love for you outweighs my hatred of raisins” and he liked them too – so I guess they are a winner!

By the way – I highly suggest you head over to the Budget Bytes Website – they have tons of great recipes – and they have a cookbook coming out soon too (which I can’t wait to pick up!)

2 Responses to “Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Get A (Pumpkin-Y) Twist!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cinnamon Rolls From Scratch – So Easy Even I Can Do It! | Modern Day Betty Crocker - October 26, 2013

    […] have been in the “baking zone” this weekend – yesterday I whipped up some Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies and a decadent Flourless Chocolate Torte (post to come on that beauty!) – what can I say? I love […]

  2. Bananas, Blueberries, And Oats – A Delicious Breakfast Combo | Modern Day Betty Crocker - August 11, 2014

    […] made in the Crock Pot or in the oven, or in cookie form with craisins and white chocolate chips or pumpkin, or in an always delicious apple crisp – I can’t get enough of this pantry staple. I eat it […]

Leave a Reply

