Cinnamon Rolls From Scratch – So Easy Even I Can Do It!

26 Oct

I have been in the “baking zone” this weekend – yesterday I whipped up some Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies and a decadent Flourless Chocolate Torte (post to come on that beauty!) – what can I say? I love to bake, and to try new recipes – but there are some things I definitely consider to be out of my “baking comfort zone”. Namely, anything that requires a candy thermometer (not sure why, it just makes me nervous ha), and my second bug-a-boo is definitely anything that has yeast in it and requires rising. Bread is more my husband’s specialty – but I recently gotten it into my head that cinnamon rolls from scratch would be amazing – not only to eat, but a feat for me – defying my baking demons by making something that requires yeast and kneading and everything!

I decided on this highly rated Cinnamon Roll Recipe from AllRecipes.com for two reasons – one – I had almost all of the ingredients at home already, and two – it only requires one “rising” and no overnight fuss or muss. So here goes nothing…

INGREDIENTS:

For the Dough:
1 cup milk
1/2 cup butter
1 cup water
1 tablespoon active dry yeast
1 cup white sugar
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
6 cups all-purpose flour

For the filling
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
2 cups dark brown sugar
1/2 cup butter, softened

For the frosting
2 cups confectioners’ sugar
1 (3 ounce) package cream cheese,
softened
1 tablespoon butter, softened
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 tablespoons milk

DIRECTIONS:

1. Warm the milk in a small saucepan until it bubbles, then remove from heat. Mix in the butter; stir until melted. Add water and let cool until lukewarm.
2. In a large bowl, combine the milk mixture, yeast, white sugar, salt, eggs and 2 cups flour; stir well to combine. Stir in the remaining flour, 1/2 cup at a time, beating well after each addition. When the dough has pulled together, turn it out onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth and elastic, about 8 minutes.
3. Divide dough into two pieces. Roll each piece into a 12×9 inch rectangle. In a bowl, stir together the cinnamon and brown sugar. Spread each piece with half of the butter, half of the brown sugar and cinnamon mixture. Roll up dough, using a little water to seal the seam.
4. Cut each roll into 12 slices using a very sharp knife or dental floss. Place rolls onto two 9×13 inch greased baking pans. Cover and let rise until almost doubled, about 1 hour. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
5. Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes until golden brown.
6. To make frosting; combine confectioner’s sugar, cream cheese, butter and vanilla. Add milk gradually until frosting reaches a spreading consistency. Spread over warm (but not hot) cinnamon rolls.

      IMG_5608

The various stages of dough – warming the milk, mixing, and adding the flour in batches

IMG_5609

My first attempt at kneading – what a great way to get out aggression!

IMG_5610

The rolls are all “rolled” and ready to rise, then bake!

IMG_5611

OVEN TIME!

The smell that fills the kitchen while these are making is completely unlike anything else in the world – the yeasty, cinnamon-y scent is the best!

IMG_5619

The baked rolls– ready for frosting!

IMG_5614

The delicious finished product

IMG_5621

When I finally got to sink my teeth into one of these, I was thrilled (and starving, as I hadn’t eaten any breakfast – I wanted to save myself for these beauties!) – and encouraged, as they were definitely worth the time and effort I put into them

The outside was nice and crispy, and the inside was doughy and sweet, with a perfect amount of spice from the cinnamon. The frosting added the perfect sweet glaze, and I honestly can’t believe I went this long without these in my life – that’s how delicious they were. They would be perfect for a holiday breakfast or to bring to brunch, or to just enjoy with a cup of coffee on a crisp fall morning!

One Response to “Cinnamon Rolls From Scratch – So Easy Even I Can Do It!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Quick Cinnamon Rolls Skip The Rising Thanks To Bisquick | Modern Day Betty Crocker - March 16, 2014

    […] – pancakes, pot pies, waffles, biscuits, dumplings, and now – cinnamon rolls? I have done cinnamon rolls from scratch before, and they are amazing, but time consuming. Well, with these bisquick cinnamon rolls, you get […]

Leave a Reply

