Products I Love – The Oster Hand mixer

8 Oct

I decided it was time to start a new series here on the blog where I could give a shout out to some of the things that help simplify my baking and my life!

First up? My beloved hand mixer!

 

 

DSCN4289I received this mixer as a wedding gift, and it has seen me through three years of mixing, pulsing and baking – but then alas, it recently sputtered out and died on me. I don’t blame this on a faulty product – I’m pretty sure I just plain wore it out. I certainly got my money’s worth out of it, so I didn’t shed any tears of loss as I tossed it in the trash and headed out to find its replacement

RedMixer

My initial thought? Buy something better, more expensive, more powerful – that will last you longer and be worth the extra money and fancy brand name that comes with it. So, I snatched up this adorable red Kitchen Aid hand mixer from Target for $40 and ran home to mix me up a cake and test it out

…Unfortunately, it’s red color was about the only benefit to this mixer. It was slow, and lacked power. Looking back, I probably should have read some online reviews before making this purchase – as they all were pretty clear that it was slow, and wimpy in the power department. I am not ashamed to admit that I used it once, and returned it the next day.

Now let me be clear – this is in NO way a dismissal of the Kitchen Aid brand as a whole – I LOVE my retro stand mixer and have had luck with other home products of theirs as well – but this 5 speed mixer is not worth the money in my opinion, as I needed something with more power and speeds to handle my near constant use

OsterMixerOk, so don’t laugh, but I ended up getting the newer model of the exact same Oster mixer I had just thrown out. Why? Well, there are a few particular reasons
-more power
-More speed options
-The TURBO option – I love this! It gives you a burst of power when you press the button, and I use it all the time!
-Price – I know I said I was willing to spend more for something better, but this was on sale for $24, and I knew I already loved it, so how could I say no?

I am happier, my cookies are more well blended, everyone wins.

What about you – what products are necessary for you in the kitchen (or in life?!)

One Response to “Products I Love – The Oster Hand mixer”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Products I Love: My Rubber Spatula | Modern Day Betty Crocker - July 17, 2014

    […] (like our trusty cookie scoops!), or to make that cake batter nice and fluffy (I rely on my trusty Oster Hand Mixer for that!), and when it comes to mixing/combining/incorporating ingredients, I use my super […]

Leave a Reply

