C Is For Cookie – MONSTER!

22 Mar

cookiemonster

Out of anything in the baking world, I would have to say that my favorite thing to make is COOKIES! And I think Cookie Monster agrees with me on that, as there are so many reasons they are my fave – most kinds freeze well, and they are hand held (no fork required!), and they’re easy to divide up, no fights over who got the bigger piece etc, plus there are just SO MANY KINDS out there to make!

Monsters

When I saw Ree Drummond make these Monster Cookies on The Pioneer Woman, I knew I just had to make them myself

The Pioneer Woman is one of my favorite Food Network shows, and I love her blog too, she has tons of amazing stuff on there, including all her recipes from the show. I have successfully made her Best Lasagna Ever, and her Garlic Cheese Bread, and those were both amazing, and since I’ve never tried one of her desserts, why not start with something amazing like these Monsters that incorporate so many delicious treats all in one – M&M’s, nuts, chocolate chips, plus the taste of oats and the crunch of Rice Krispies – sign me up!!

         IMG_3087Naked dough ready for it’s delicious additions!IMG_3091

Dough + M&M’s + Rice Krispies + Pecans + Chocolate Chips

IMG_3090

My helpers – adorable husband and Walter!

IMG_3093

Ready for the oven!

Monster Cookies
Ingredients:
2 sticks (1/2 Pound) Butter (salted) Softened
1/2 cup White Sugar
1-1/2 cup Brown Sugar, Packed
2 whole Large Eggs
1 Tablespoon Vanilla Extract
1-1/2 cup All-purpose Flour
1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
1 teaspoon Baking Powder
2 teaspoons Kosher Salt
1-1/2 cup Oats (either Quick Or Regular)
1/2 cup M & M’s (more To Taste)
1/2 cup Pecans, Chopped (more To Taste)
3/4 cups Chocolate Chips (milk Or Semi-sweet)
1/2 cup Peanut Butter Chips
2-1/4 cups Rice Krispies
Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Cream butter with sugars until fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add vanilla and beat.

Combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, and kosher salt. Add to mixing bowl and mix till combined. After that, add in remaining ingredients in whatever quantity you prefer. Add more nuts if you’d like, or more M & M’s, more peanut butter chips or chocolate chips.

Add Rice Krispies at the very end, mixing until just combined. Do not overmix!

Use a cookie scoop to scoop balls of dough onto a cookie sheet. Bake until golden brown (about 10-12 minutes), then allow to cool on a rack.

Serve with glasses of cold milk.

**The only substitution I made to the recipe was that I didn’t use any peanut butter chips – I just used all chocolate chips instead (don’t get me wrong, I LOVE peanut butter, but I wanted to share these with one of my best friends who gave up peanut butter for Lent – so I was nice and left those out, but I would definitely put them in next time!)

IMG_3095

IMG_3099

….I admit, I turn into a cookie monster for these. They are amazing, a different texture in every bite, crunchy yet still soft and delicious! So far, the Pioneer Woman has yet to steer me wrong…now if you’ll excuse me I need to go to the store for more milk, as mine seems to have disappeared…hmm…

IMG_3100

One Response to “C Is For Cookie – MONSTER!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Potluck Crowd Pleasing Desserts | Modern Day Betty Crocker - July 26, 2013

    […] -Monster Cookies – So many awesome tastes all in one! These giant cookies have a lot going on – M & M’s, Rice Krispies, oats, nuts, chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, peanut butter flavor – but they all work together well and create a delicious cookie that will please everyone! […]

Leave a Reply

