The Cherpumple Lives!

25 Nov

A while back I mentioned how I was going to be attempting to make a cherpumple for Thanksgiving dinner this year. Well, I am happy to report that the experiment was a success!


…and I couldn’t have done it without the help of Walter, who prevented this powdered sugar from dirtying the floor by acting as a towel

It was really pretty easy. I baked the (frozen store bought) pies on Monday night and stored them in the refrigerator until Tuesday night, when I mixed up the boxed cake mixes and baked the pies into them.

 

The original Cherpumple directions simply advise to cook the cakes as per the box directions. Well…that didn’t really work out so well. There was so much moisture in the pies that the cakes took forever to bake, and in some places didn’t set up very well. I ended up leaving them all in for over an hour, and there were still places that were soggy after that long. What I ended up doing was scraping the soggy parts of cake off the layers, and then cutting pieces of cake off the ends and placing them on top of the pies. It worked out pretty well in the end.

 

So, here it is – the cherpumple – a cherry pie inside a white cake, a pumpkin pie inside a yellow cake, and an apple pie inside a spice cake – all layered and slathered with cream cheese frosting

 

So the big question is – how was it? It was sweet. Really, really sweet. Personally, I liked it. I liked the pie and cake combo, and the frosting was a nice added layer of smooth sweetness.

 

Will I be making it again next year? Well…probably not. It was fun and delicious, but at the end of the day a scratch made apple or pumpkin pie is always a winner, so I think it will stick with the classics in the future. But, it is fun to try something new once in a while, and this was certainly an interesting concoction, to say the least!

One Response to “The Cherpumple Lives!”

  1. BabyBoomerBakes November 26, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    I need Walter to help (as a towel) sometimes in my kitchen too! Cherpumple must be the dessert variation on Turkucken.

Leave a Reply

