Battle Of The Sugar Cookies – Which Recipe Is The Best?

18 Nov

 

One of me favorite things to make is frosted sugar cookies. They are delicious, versatile, and super fun to decorate for any and every occasion. I used to cheat and use a boxed sugar cookie mix, but the brand I prefer (Krusteaz) is no longer carried at any of my local grocery stores, so this holiday season I realized I would have to take drastic measures and (gasp!) make my sugar cookies from scratch. I have done this before, but haven’t found a recipe that was worth repeating. So, I did some research, and narrowed it down to these two recipes:

 
Betty Crocker Sugar Cookies
Ingredients
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1 cup butter or margarine, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
1 egg
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cream of tartar
Granulated sugar or colored sugar

Directions
1. Mix powdered sugar, butter, vanilla, almond extract and egg in large bowl. Stir in remaining ingredients except granulated sugar. Cover and refrigerate at least 2 hours.
2. Heat oven to 375ºF. Lightly grease cookie sheet.
3. Divide dough in half. Roll each half 1/4 inch thick on lightly floured surface. Cut into desired shapes with 2- to 2 1/2-inch cookie cutters. Sprinkle with granulated sugar. Place on cookie sheet.
4. Bake 7 to 8 minutes or until edges are light brown. Remove from cookie sheet. Cool on wire rack.

 

Allrecipes.com The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe
Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups butter, softened
2 cups white sugar
4 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

5 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt

Directions

1. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Stir in the flour, baking powder, and salt. Cover, and chill dough for at least one hour (or overnight).
2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Roll out dough on floured surface 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick. Cut into shapes with any cookie cutter. Place cookies 1 inch apart on ungreased cookie sheets.
3. Bake 6 to 8 minutes in preheated oven. Cool completely.

Then, it was time for the duel. So, I prepared my ingredients

And mixed my doughs

Betty Crocker

All Recipes

And baked my cookies (even though the all recipes said to bake them at 400, I baked them at 375 and they turned out fine, 400 seemed really high to me and the oven was already at 375)

Betty on Left, AllRecipes on Right

So once all that was done….the big question is, which recipe was better?

Let me start out by saying, they both had their good and bad points – The Betty Crocker cookies were slightly drier, but more flaky and had lots of delicate layers, which were delicious. The All Recipes cookies were richer and more buttery, but puffed up more when baking and definitely had a slightly more shortbread-ish texture, which isn’t my favorite when it comes to sugar cookies
For me, I think the winner has to be the Betty Crocker recipe, the smooth dough produced a cookie which had a better overall taste, which could have something to do with the almond extract in the dough (yum!)

 

However, if you are looking for more of a classic sugar cookie taste, I think your best bet would be the All Recipes cookies

 

Both turned out delicious and when slathered with frosting have that classic taste we have all come to associate with Christmas

 

Happy Holiday Baking!

7 Responses to “Battle Of The Sugar Cookies – Which Recipe Is The Best?”

  1. ajo263 November 20, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    Allrecipes’ “The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies” is the recipe I use EVERY year! I will never switch! Glad you found it, too!

    • ajo263 November 20, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

      I’ll have to steal the almond extract idea from Betty Crocker…sounds like it would add a lot more overall flavor!

      • livinginagrownupworld November 20, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

        The almond definitely makes it such a different taste hard to believe since it’s such a small amount but its true. Betty hasn’t steered me wrong yet ha!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christmas Means Cookies – And LOTS Of Them! « Modern Day Betty Crocker - December 18, 2012

    […] there were the Sugar cookies – and since I couldn’t decide which recipe to use, I made two batches (cuz you can never have too many cookies, […]

  2. Nothing Says “I Love You” Like Sugar And Butter « Modern Day Betty Crocker - February 15, 2013

    […] cookie recipe, and since I already determined that the Betty Crocker recipe was the favorite in my Battle Of The Sugar Cookies, I just whipped up a batch of those and got down to the important part – the […]

  3. Skip The Frosting With These Sugar Cookie Candy Canes | Modern Day Betty Crocker - December 10, 2013

    […] just whipped up a batch of sugar cookie dough split it in half and then added red food dye gel to one half and mixed well so all of it was fully […]

  4. My Little Helper (AKA The World’s Most Adorable Sous Chef) | Modern Day Betty Crocker - May 24, 2016

    […] REALLY enjoyed helping me make sugar cookies, and enjoyed the frosting we made for them even […]

Leave a Reply

