Cherpumple – What The Heck Is That?

6 Nov

Some of my best friends are coming from Virginia for Thanksgiving, and they are not picky eaters so I don’t have to worry too much about what I serve them (luckily!). However, my one friend did make one request… he wants a cherpumple. When I told him I would make it, he got more excited than I have ever seen him (seriously, that’s how pumped he was about the prospect of this dessert!)

The Cherpumple

Does that dessert look scary to you? Because it scares me! I am not sure how I would eat attempt to eat it, much less attempt to make one!

 

So what exactly IS a cherpumple, you might ask? It’s a towering cake monstrosity constructed of a pumpkin pie baked into a spice cake layer, an apple pie baked into a yellow cake layer, and a cherry pie baked into a white cake layer, and the layers are stacked (or glued) together with cream cream cheese frosting.

 

Charles Phoenix is the inventor of this (slightly ridiculous) dessert. How did he come up with the idea for the cherpumple? Well, he was eyeing the remains of his family’s Thanksgiving meal and noticed that everyone took a sliver of each pie—cherry, pumpkin and apple—and some cake. “I was inspired,” he says, “to combine all my family’s traditional holiday desserts into one.” Read more about him and his invention Here

So here ‘s the recipe:

The Cherpumple “Monster” Pie Cake

Ingredients:
– 1 8″ frozen pumpkin pie
– 1 box spice cake mix
– 1 8″ frozen apple pie
– 1 box yellow cake mix
– 1 8″ frozen cherry pie
– 1 box white cake mix
– eggs and oil according to the cake mix
– 3 tall tubs of cream-cheese frosting
– 3 8.5″ round cake pans

Bake pies according to instructions and cool to room temperature overnight. Mix cake batter according to instructions. For each layer pour about 1 1/3 cup of batter in the cake pan. Carefully de-tin the baked pie and place it face up on top of the batter in the cake pan. Push down lightly to release any trapped air. Pour enough batter on top to cover the pie. Bake according to box instructions. Cool and remove from pans then frost it like you mean it.

 

Ok, so I know I will definitely be using all store bought cake mixes and pies, but as for the frosting, I will definitely make my own, probably a combo of cream cheese and butter base (plus powdered sugar, vanilla, and milk – you know, all the usual frosting suspects), and this is really because it tastes a LOT better than packaged frosting, and it is really easy to make from scratch too!

 

My biggest concern with this is that I have a feeling it will fall apart when I attempt to assemble it. What I am planning on doing is baking the pies the Tuesday before Thanksgiving, then baking the cake pies on Wednesday, and I will be refrigerating them until I am ready for assembly, and I will make sure the frosting is cool too, and that will hopefully help all layers stay firm during assembly! Worst case scenario? I pretend I wanted it to fall apart and that it was meant to be served in bowls and eaten with spoons

 

Either way, I am looking forward to the new culinary challenge, as appearance has always been the hardest thing for me master when it comes to desserts. I can make some tasty desserts, but they don’t always look like the picture in the recipe…maybe the cherpumple will force me to pay more attention to detail and it will end up being the prettiest dessert ever! Like this one…

 

…Either way, I can’t wait to taste it, and will definitely be posting some pics after Thanksgiving. My mouth is watering just thinking about it…

One Response to “Cherpumple – What The Heck Is That?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Cherpumple Lives! « Modern Day Betty Crocker - November 25, 2012

    […] while back I mentioned how I was going to be attempting to make a cherpumple for Thanksgiving dinner this year. Well, I am happy to report that the experiment was a […]

Leave a Reply

