Saltine Toffee – So Good It Should Be Illegal

24 Jun

The first time I saw this, Trisha Yearwood was making it on her Food Network cooking show Trisha’s Southern Kitchen, which I love. The minute she started making this, I could feel myself start to drool, and so obviously the next step was to find the recipe on Pinterest and make it…ASAP
I was thrilled to discover that there were only 4 ingredients involved in this treat, all of which I already had at home (honestly, those are the best kinds or recipes, because nothing is worse than having to go to the store while in a “desperately seeking sweets” state of mind, you end up coming home with half the candy aisle, or maybe that’s just me?)

Ok. So I had my ingredients assembled, now it was time to tackle this recipe. And by tackle, I mean simply do it, because it didn’t exactly look difficult or time consuming:

Saltine Toffee (Recipe courtesy of A Southern Grace)

Ingredients
1 cup unsalted butter (no margarine allowed)
1 cup brown sugar
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
40 saltine crackers

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 350ºF
Line jelly roll pan or cookie sheet with foil and spray with non-stick spray

 

 

 

Lay a flat layer of crackers out on the foil

 

 

 

 

Melt the sugar and butter until a boil is reached. Reduce the heat and simmer, uncovered, for 5-6 minutes or until mixture is thickened and sugar is completely dissolved

 

 

 

 

Pour this mixture over the crackers and spread to coat evenly

 

 

 

Bake for 8-10 minutes, or until the toffee becomes bubbly. After removing the pan from the oven, let it sit for 3-5 minutes

 

 

 

 

Sprinkle on the chocolate chips, let them soften and melt, and then spread them into an even layer. (You can add nuts, cracker crumbs, or whatever else floats your boat at this point.)
Let cool and, if desired for expediting purposes, refrigerate until hardened. Break into pieces the size of your choice. I personally prefer a hand-sized chunk.

 

I don’t really have many notes for this, I did exactly what the recipe says and my end product was exactly what I had hoped for/expected – a salty, chewy, sweet treat that certainly won’t last long in my house. In fact, I think it’s time I go get some right now, all this writing about it has made me want some.


Make this, share it (or hog it all to yourself, no judging here) – you will love it.

Leave a Reply

