Putting These “Best Brownies” To The Test

9 Jun

I was going through my recipes the other day and I realized…wow, I have a LOT of brownie recipes, and then I realized why – I am a sucker for a brownie. Not just any kind of brownie though, I like the thick, dense, gooey, fudgey kind, which is why I have so many recipes, I am always trying to find the perfect brownie

So when I stumbled across this recipe titled ”Best Brownies”, I thought I better try them and see if they really are “the best”

My friend Kristen was over and she happens to love baking and chocolate as much as I do, so she agreed to help me conduct (and eat!) this experiment

Kristen helping me mix up the brownie batter

This is the point at which we have to refrain ourselves from sticking our tongues under the stream of delicious chocolatey goodness

Best Brownies

(Recipe courtesy of allrecipes.com)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour an 8 inch square pan.
  2. In a large saucepan, melt 1/2 cup butter. Remove from heat, and stir in sugar, eggs, and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Beat in 1/3 cup cocoa, 1/2 cup flour, salt, and baking powder. Spread batter into prepared pan.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 25 to 30 minutes. Do not overcook.
  4. To Make Frosting: Combine 3 tablespoons butter, 3 tablespoons cocoa, 1 tablespoon honey, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and 1 cup confectioners’ sugar. Frost brownies while they are still warm.

A few notes:

-Melt the butter on the stove? Sillyness! I used the microwave, turned out fine

-The frosting needed a little thinning out, I ended up adding about 2 tablespoons of milk to get a more workable consistency

Me as I slather the brownies with frosting

The Finished Product

We ate these while they were warm, and they were AWESOME – everything I could possibly want in a brownie – gooey, dense, fudgey, plus they had frosting too, wow. I topped these with some brownie swirl ice cream and I was in heaven!

The Inside – Fudge To The Max

So are these really the “Best Brownies”? Well, they are pretty amazing, and I will definitely be making them again, and I would have to say they are definitely on par with the Brownie Rubble and the infamous Slutty Brownie.

*sigh* so many brownies, so little time

4 Responses to “Putting These “Best Brownies” To The Test”

  1. mydearbakes June 10, 2012 at 4:23 am #

    This looks so yummy! How I wish I can do something like that =)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Boma – Why You Should Go « Living in a grown up World - June 9, 2012

    […] is an African inspired buffet located at the beautiful Animal Kingdom Lodge Resort At Walt Disney World, and it serves breakfast and dinner daily. It’s a great place to go for a […]

  2. Crazy/Slutty/Delicious Describes These (Slightly Insane) Brownies | Modern Day Betty Crocker - August 10, 2014

    […] a classic brownie, I also love to mix it up and try new versions – like the Brownie Rubble, frosted brownies from scratch, and of course the Slutty Brownie – which might be one of the more ridiculous things I have ever […]

  3. Looks Aren’t Everything – TASTE Is! (Also Known As – The Tale Of How I Botched These Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownies But Ate Them Anyway) | Modern Day Betty Crocker - May 24, 2017

    […] didn’t actually have any boxed brownie mix on hand – so I turned to the Best Brownie recipe I have made several times before – as I did have all that stuff on hand already […]

Leave a Reply

