Hopping Into Spring With An Adorable (And Delicious!) Bunny

29 May

Ok, I realize I may be a little late here, considering it’s almost June and temperatures have already surpassed 90 more than once this year (and here in Upstate NY that is not common for this time of year, trust me!), BUT honestly, the little bunnies living in my yard inspired me to think about Spring and all that it brings, including flowers, rain, and Easter!

And what better way to celebrate the arrival of the Easter Bunny than with this Bunny Cake?

 

I used a Pillsbury boxed cake mix – lemon flavored, and baked it according to the box directions, in 2 round cake pans
Then I cut it up according to this diagram:

And since it was lemon cake, I used this lemon frosting:
Ingredients:
-1 teaspoon fresh lemon rind, grated
-3 tablespoons butter
-3 cups confectioners sugar, sifted
-2 tablespoons lemon juice
-1 tablespoon water
-1 dash salt

Directions:
Cream together lemon rind and butter, and add the sugar in batches, blending after each addition. Then add the salt, water and lemon juice and mix well, and voila, yummy homemade lemon frosting couldn’t be easier!

Then it was time to decorate! Many bunny cake recipes advise putting coconut on the bunny to make it look like fur, which is super cute, but I hate coconut so I don’t do that, I just used some frosting, sprinkles, and jelly beans for my bunny

…As it turns out, this was not my first time making this cake. After we enjoyed my lemon bunny, my mom dug this treasure out of a photo album – me with my first ever bunny, circa 1993.

The Bunny cake may not be a new, exciting recipe, but one thing is for sure – it’s easy, delicious, and makes people smile. Perfect for your next Easter dinner!

Leave a comment