These Apple Pies May Be Mini, But They Are BIG On Flavor!

15 May

Fall is by far my favorite season, and luckily I live in Upstate NY which means autumn brings crisp air and beautiful leaves, and of course – APPLES! We went apple picking every weekend last September, and of course that meant applesauce, apple crisp, and my personal favorite – apple pie!

I like to make apple pie all year round, even in the spring when the apples aren’t at their peak, I still love it and it reminds me of my favorite season! I discovered this recipe online, as I was looking for something a little different than a traditional pie, and I love that they were all their own little individual servings!

I served it with vanilla ice cream and homemade caramel sauce, and it was like autumn in a bowl!

Bobby’s Lighter Apple Pies
(Recipe courtesy of PaulaDeen.com)

Prep Time: 35 min
Cook Time: 40 min
Difficulty: easy
Yield: 8 pieces

Ingredients:
4 teaspoons butter
3 McIntosh apples, peeled, cored, and sliced
3 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon lemon juice
1/2 (15-ounce) package refrigerated rolled pie crust
2 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 400°F. Spray a large sheet tray with nonstick spray.
Heat the butter in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat until melted. Add the apples, sugar, cinnamon, and lemon juice. Cook, over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until the apples are soft, 10 – 15 minutes. Remove from the heat; let the filling cool 15 minutes.

Cut the pie crust roll into 8 (11/4-inch) pieces. On a lightly floured surface, roll each piece into a 5-inch round. Spoon 2 tablespoons filling slightly off center of each round. Fold each round over the filling to make a half-moon shape. Seal by pressing the edges with the tines of a fork. Prick the top of each pie two or three times to vent. Bake until golden, about 20 minutes. A little of the filling may bubble out. Cool on the baking sheet on a rack 5 minutes. Sprinkle with powdered sugar while still warm. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Filling the pies

 

One little pie all ready for the oven!

 

Ready to be devoured….yum!

Why are they called “lighter”? Well, Bobby is Paula Deen’s son, and he has made it his mission to take his mother’s recipes and make them better for you, so this was adapted from Paula’s Fried Apple Pie Recipe

My Notes:
-I admit it, I am lazy – I didn’t roll out the 8 pieces of pie crust, I simply cut each round into quarters and smushed it around the apple filling (which got messy and leaky, but I made it work!)
-Instead of doing the half moon shapes, I just kind of wrapped the crust around the pies and let it bubble over the top – more rustic looking that way!
-Three apples is NOT enough – I would do more like 6 next time, as I had to ration out the filling, and no one wants too little filling in their pie!
-I did not like that I had to pre-cook the apples, I prefer the kind of pie where you bake it with the raw apples, but it did make them bake faster than a traditional pie, which was nice
-The powdered sugar is really optional, it doesn’t add much to the pies at all, so you can skip it if you want

Would I make these again? Maybe, as I did like the idea of the individual pies, and the taste was overall very good, so I think if I did it again and used more apples it would be perfect. Once the fall season rolls around, I just may give this one another try!

2 Responses to “These Apple Pies May Be Mini, But They Are BIG On Flavor!”

  1. mydearbakes May 16, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    Great recipe, thanks for sharing! =)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Applesauce – Easy To Make, Delicious To Eat, Fun To Give! | Modern Day Betty Crocker - September 26, 2013

    […] aren’t an applesauce fan, then maybe you could try a classic Apple Pie, or even these adorable Mini apple pies perhaps? Or there’s one of my other faves – Apple Crisp…yum. So many apple possibilities, […]

Leave a Reply

