Chocolate Chips – You Can Put Them In Anything! Even Banana Bread?

21 Apr

I had heard of chocolate chip banana bread, but had never made or eaten it before (which is surprising, considering how much I love chocolate!)

So when my BFF texted me a picture of some ripe bananas with the caption of “These reminded me how delicious banana bread with chocolate chips would be. I’m sure Andrew would agree!”. My husband Andrew DID in fact agree, and I’ll admit I didn’t take much convincing either.

I used this basic banana bread recipe from allrecipes.com (it had over 6700 reviews and was rated 4.5 out of 5 stars, so I figured it must be at least halfway decent!)

Banana Banana Bread

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2 1/3 cups mashed overripe bananas

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan.
  2. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt. In a separate bowl, cream together butter and brown sugar. Stir in eggs and mashed bananas until well blended. Stir banana mixture into flour mixture; stir just to moisten. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 60 to 65 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into center of the loaf comes out clean. Let bread cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack.

The recipe itself was easy and as far as banana breads go, this one was extra banana-y. Most recipes call for around 3 or so bananas, this one took 7 – 2 1/3 cups is a LOT of banana! The only addition I made to the recipe was the always delicious chocolate chips – I used about 6 oz of semisweet chips (about half of a regular 12 oz size bag).

My only gripe is that it took a LOT longer than 60 minutes to cook, probably closer to 80 before the toothpick came out clean, which might have been due to the addition of the chocolate? I covered the top loosely with foil after about 50 minutes, as it was starting to get brown and I didn’t want it to burn

The end result? A BIG, banana-y loaf

It tasted really good, had a strong banana flavor, and the chocolate chips made a great addition

 

….needless to say, it was gone within a day.

 

 

Chocolate + Bananas = Delicious.

Those are words to live by.

3 Responses to “Chocolate Chips – You Can Put Them In Anything! Even Banana Bread?”

  1. Brittany April 21, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    YES! Chocolate chips should be on the food pyramid for essential nutrients in your day. Choc chip banana bread is amazing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Battle Of The Banana Breads – Does BEER Really Make It Better? « Modern Day Betty Crocker - June 16, 2012

    […] thought “why not add beer to banana bread?” I had already has one delicious success with adding chocolate chips to banana bread, so beer seemed like the next logical […]

  2. Banana Bread Baked Oatmeal – A Winner For All – Big And Small! | Modern Day Betty Crocker - November 9, 2015

    […] most recent endeavor was inspired by these SUPER ripe bananas. I was just going to make banana bread (which is always delicious!), but I wanted to try something new and different – and was scrolling […]

Leave a Reply

