Cookies As Christmas Gifts – The Snickerdoodle Pinwheel

25 Mar

Since I love baking so much, I thought it would be a fun idea to give everyone cookie tins for Christmas this past year. Because honestly, what is better than receiving a tin full of yummy cookies that were baked with love?

I decided to include Snickerdoodle Pinwheels in my cookie tins, a cookie introduced to me by my mother in law (who is a seriously amazing baker and cake decorator). So I decided to make them for all 12 tins, and I realized I would need 6 batches of them (each batch makes 2 ‘rolls’ of dough, which you then slice and bake and each roll will give you about 2 dozen cookies)

My 6 batches of dough (it was a LOT of cookie dough!)

 

My husband loves helping me (and is in no way scared of screwing up and dealing with the wrath of Catie!)

 

The end result – a delicious buttery cookie with yummy sweet cinnamon sugar inside. They almost look too pretty to eat!

Here’s the recipe:

Snickerdoodle Pinwheels

Yield: about 5 dozen cookies

Ingredients

  • For the cookies:
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 3 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • For the cinnamon mixture:
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon butter

Instructions

  1. Cream butter, cream cheese, and sugar in a large mixing bowl until light and fluffy. Add in egg and vanilla; beat until combined. Sift in flour and baking powder. Mix just until combined, being careful not to overmix. Dump dough onto counter and knead 2 or 3 times just to incorporate any leftover flour. Divide into 2 discs and wrap in plastic wrap. Refrigerate for about an hour.
  2. To make cinnamon mixture, combine sugar and cinnamon. Melt butter; set aside.
  3. Working with one disc of dough at a time, roll out into a 12 x 8 inch rectangle on a floured surface. Brush dough with half of the melted butter. Sprinkle with half of the cinnamon mixture. Starting from one of the short sides, roll into a tight log. Wrap in plastic wrap. Repeat with other disc. Refrigerate for at least 4 hours.
  4. When ready to bake, preheat oven to 375F.
  5. Use a sharp knife to cut dough into 1/4-inch rounds; place on ungreased baking sheet. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes or until edges are just slightly golden. Cool on wire rack.

These freeze easily which worked perfectly for me because I like to be prepared and organized ahead of time, so I was able to make and bake these in early December and then assemble the tins closer to Christmas time.

Would I make these again? In a heartbeat. Would I make so many of them again? No, definitely not, and I would probably not include them in cookie tins again. They are amazing and taste and look great and the dough is not difficult to make, but they are somewhat labor intensive when it comes to rolling it out into a rectangle, and then rolling it super tight to ensure you get that perfect pinwheel shape.

This year I think I am going to give everyone else cookie mix in a jar, and make just one perfect batch of snickerdoodle pinwheels and eat them all myself (well, maybe I will share a few with my husband if he is nice to me….we will see!)

2 Responses to “Cookies As Christmas Gifts – The Snickerdoodle Pinwheel”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My “Go To” Chocolate Cake Recipe « Modern Day Betty Crocker - June 5, 2012

    […] Since then, I have been experimenting with making various baked goods from scratch, like cookies and brownies, and I have even attempted to make a cake (minus the boxed […]

  2. No Bake Toffee Fudge Bars = The Perfect Gift (IF You’re Willing To Share) | Modern Day Betty Crocker - November 23, 2016

    […] wherever I can – I make applesauce and jar it every year to share with friends and family, and cookies are another item I love to give (and receive!). This year I plan to make at least two kinds to […]

Leave a Reply

