The Oreo Truffle – 3 Ingredients, One Amazing Dessert!

15 Mar
 Crushed Oreos + Cream Cheese + Melted Chocolate = Heaven
 
Who knew that these 3 simple items could combine to make such an amazing dessert?
 
 
 
Here’s the details on how you can create these little balls of yumminess:
 

Ingredients:

  • 1 (16 ounce) package Oreo Chocolate Sandwich Cookies, divided
  • 1 (8 ounce) package Cream Cheese, softened
  • 2 (8 ounce) packages Baker’s Semi-Sweet Baking Chocolate, melted

Directions:

  1. Crush 9 of the cookies to fine crumbs in food processor; reserve for later use. (Cookies can also be finely crushed in a resealable plastic bag using a rolling pin.) Crush remaining 36 cookies to fine crumbs; place in medium bowl. Add cream cheese; mix until well blended. Roll cookie mixture into 42 balls, about 1-inch in diameter.
  2. Dip balls in chocolate; place on wax paper-covered baking sheet. (Any leftover chocolate can be stored at room temperature for another use.) Sprinkle with reserved cookie crumbs.
  3. Refrigerate until firm, about 1 hour. Store leftover truffles, covered, in refrigerator.
 
So there is the recipe, and here are my notes on it: I don’t always use the Baker’s chocolate, sometimes I improvise with regular semi-sweet chocolate chips, works just as well. I don’t set aside some crumbs to sprinkle on the tops of the truffles, however I have used red and green sprinkles at christmas time (which turned out pretty cute)
 
 
  
My always helpful husband making some truffles
 
 
Some still melty kinda messy truffles
 
 
 I admit, I do have an issue with aesthetics on this one….mine end up looking like messy blobs, whereas my husband can get his to look much neater….I haven’t figured out a solution to this yet, but at the end of the day as long as they taste good who cares (which they do, taste good that is!)
 
 
Attractiveness level? Not so high. Taste level? Through the roof!!
 
 
AWESOME VARIATION: is to use MINT oreos (ok, I will be honest, I didn’t come up with this one on my own, my co-worker Bridget did, and I swear when I had one, it was an uplifting experience….the mint works so well with the chocolate, and I had never even had a mint oreo before eating the truffle, but now I need to go straight to the store and get some of my own, that’s how good they were! So Thanks Bridget for inspiring me to write this post, and for making awesome mint oreo truffles  🙂
 
They also make Strawberry Milkshake and Peanut Butter Oreos…hmm….inspiration for future truffles (and blog posts!) perhaps?
2 Responses to “The Oreo Truffle – 3 Ingredients, One Amazing Dessert!”

  1. trialsinfood March 15, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

    Yummy! Wished my husband could help me make chocolates. His hands are too warm so he ends up melting the chocolates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oreos + Pudding + White Chocolate + Chocolate Chips = One Delicious Cookie! « Modern Day Betty Crocker - May 6, 2012

    […] is no big secret that I LOVE OREOS – from the Slutty Brownie to the Oreo Truffle to the Cake Batter Oreo, I will try just about anything with Oreos in […]

Leave a Reply

