Putting the “Fun” in Funfetti

15 Mar

Did you know that you can make cookies out of a box of funfetti cake mix? I didn’t until recently, and it’s been a truly amazing discovery. They are a quick, cheap, easy way to whip up a special treat (plus since funfetti comes in seasonal varieties, you can make them for all kinds of special occasions too!

They come out great every time, and always taste delicious (like cake, only firmer!)

The recipe is on the side of the box of funfetti in case you want to give it a go.

Now, onto bigger and better (oreo filled!) things

Ready to get my cake covered oreo on

I decided, with my second box of funfetti, to attempt these Cake Batter Oreos I saw online, in honor of oreo’s 100th birthday, and also well because oreos rule, and so does funfetti, so why not combine two of my loves into one amazing dessert?

So the instructions basically say to add water until you get a thick batter, well, I ended up adding about a whole cup of water, a few tablespoons of oil, and 1 egg before I got a consistency that was thick but not too thick. Then comes the dunking. As seen above, its basically just dunking oreos into the batter, and placing them on a cookie sheet, then baking them until they are done (takes about 8-9 minutes)

The finished product isn’t all that attractive from the outside….

but it’s what INSIDE that really counts here

I love this cross section of the cookie, and when I tasted it, I personally enjoyed it, my husband proclaimed to not be a huge fan (however that didn’t stop him from sampling more of them…)

Overall, a worthwhile experiment. Would I make them again? Probably. I mean, come on, its a cookie inside cake, how can you NOT like that?

Now if you’ll excuse me I need to go sample more of them….for research purposes of course

5 Responses to “Putting the “Fun” in Funfetti”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Red Velvet Cake Transforms Into A Delicious Cookie « Modern Day Betty Crocker - April 6, 2012

    […] so we know I love Funfetti cookies, which are basically a cake mix turned cookie, so when I finally tried red velvet cake on a cruise […]

  2. Oreos + Pudding + White Chocolate + Chocolate Chips = One Delicious Cookie! « Modern Day Betty Crocker - May 6, 2012

    […] is no big secret that I LOVE OREOS – from the Slutty Brownie to the Oreo Truffle to the Cake Batter Oreo, I will try just about anything with Oreos in […]

  3. My “Go To” Chocolate Cake Recipe « Modern Day Betty Crocker - June 5, 2012

    […] for now. I especially enjoy the funfetti variety of boxed white cake mix (did you know you can make cookies out of funfetti cake mix? I make these all the time, they are so good, and they stay fresh for […]

  4. Potluck Crowd Pleasing Desserts | Modern Day Betty Crocker - July 26, 2013

    […] -Funfetti Cookies – These are fast, cheap, and easy – you use a standard funfetti boxed cake mix, add 1/3 cup of oil & 2 eggs, form into balls on cookie sheets, bake for 6-8 minutes, and voila – cake cookies! *Quick Tip – if you don’t have the Funfetti cake mix at home, you can use almost any standard size/flavor cake mix and turn them into Cookies using that same recipe […]

  5. Celebrate Your Next Birthday (Or ANY Day Really) With These Cake Batter Chocolate Chip Cookies | Modern Day Betty Crocker - May 16, 2017

    […] have been making funfetti cookies for years – they are cheap, easy to make, and they taste delicious – so what’s […]

Leave a Reply

